Explore as a

Our Branches

View our ten Branches. They are strong active societies, with their own local programmes of lectures, meetings and events.

Our Branches are distinct, separate regional organisations with close links with the Society, rather than “local branches” as such. Some Branch events are held in association with Royal Society Te Apārangi.

List of Branches

Auckland Museum Institute

Address: Auckland Museum Institute, Private Bag 92018, AUCKLAND 1142

President: John McIntyre jande.mcintyre@gmail.com

Contact: Andrea Webley awebley@aucklandmuseum.com

Hawkes Bay Branch of the Royal Society of New Zealand

President: Lynne Trafford lynne@traffordconsulting.co.nz

Contact: Carol Larson hawkesbay.rsnz@gmail.com

Nelson Science Society

President: Jenny Pollock, Nelson College for Girls, PO Box 842, Nelson 7040 jenny.pollock@xtra.co.nz

Contact: Dr Andy Hamilton andrewhamilton1962@hotmail.com

Otago Institute for the Arts and Sciences

Address: Otago Institute, PO Box 6373, DUNEDIN NORTH 9059

President: James Scott, Dept of Geology, University of Otago, PO Box 56, DUNEDIN 9054 james.scott@otago.ac.nz

Contact: Ting Wang, Dept of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Otago, PO Box 56, DUNEDIN 9054 ting.wang@otago.ac.nz

Royal Society of New Zealand Canterbury Branch

Address: Royal Society of New Zealand Canterbury Branch, PO Box 8558, Riccarton, CHRISTCHURCH 8544

President: Rob Cruickshank bugblokenz@outlook.com

Contact: Alec Ford secretary@canterbury.rsnzbranch.org.nz

Royal Society of New Zealand Manawatu Branch Incorporated

President: Dr Craig Ross CRSNZ, Landcare Research, Private Bag 11052, Manawatu Mail Centre, PALMERSTON NORTH 4442 RossC@landcareresearch.co.nz

Contact: Dr Heather Meikle, Palmerston North Girls High School, 238 Fitzherbert Ave, West End, PALMERSTON NORTH 4410 hmeikle@inspire.net.nz

Contact: Keith Young kiuvenes@gmail.com

Royal Society of New Zealand Rotorua Branch

Address: Royal Society of New Zealand, Rotorua Branch, SCION, Private Bag 3020, Rotorua, New Zealand 3040

President: Dr Lloyd Donaldson, SCION, Private Bag 3020, ROTORUA 3040 lloyd.donaldson@scionresearch.com

Contact: Dr Stefan Hill, Research Leader, SCION, Private Bag 3020, ROTORUA 3046 Stefan.Hill@scionresearch.com

Royal Society of New Zealand Wellington Branch

Address: Royal Society of NZ - Wellington Branch, PO Box 3085, WELLINGTON 6140

President: Dr Phil Lester president@wellingtonrsnz.org.nz

Contact: Chrissy Boulton secretary@wellington.science.org.nz

The Waikato Branch of the Royal Society of New Zealand

President: Paul Taylor statfishtics@actrix.co.nz

Contact: Paul Taylor info@rsnzwaikato.org

Wanaka Branch of the Royal Society of New Zealand

President: Dr Maxwell Shepherd FRSNZ, 43 Ridgecrest, WANAKA 9343 max.shepherd@biocellcorp.co.nz

Contact: John Darby, 52 Meadowstone Drive, Wanaka, New Zealand 9305 john.darby@xtra.co.nz

Contact: Trevor Savage, PO Box 278, Wanaka 9343 tlnswanaka@gmail.com

 

Do Branch details need updating or correcting? Email membership@royalsociety.org.nz.

Find out what it takes to become a Branch of Royal Society Te Apārangi