Explore as a

Share our content


View recipients of the Humanities Aronui Medal.

Latest recipient

The 2018 Humanities Aronui Medal was awarded to Professor Barbara Brookes MNZM for her outstanding contribution to Humanities scholarship, reshaping the history of New Zealand by putting women at the centre of a substantial and internationally recognised body of scholarly work culminating in A History of New Zealand Women.

Previous recipients


Emeritus Professor Laurie Bauer FRSNZ (for his world-renowned research has focused on word-formation, the description of New Zealand English, and the sound structure of language)


Tony Ballantyne FRSNZ (for reshaping the scholarly interpretation of British imperial history by demonstrating the importance of networks, cultural difference and mobility, and reconstructing the centrality of colonialism and empires in the making of the modern world)


Atholl Anderson FRSNZ (for his outstanding contribution to the humanities through research on pre-European migration and colonisation of oceanic islands)


Brian Boyd FRSNZ (for his wide-ranging contribution to the humanities)


Not awarded.


Alan Musgrave FRSNZ (for his enduring and profound influence as a philosopher of science whose influence has ranged widely across the humanities and social sciences)


Jim Flynn FRSNZ (for his outstanding work in political philosophy, in particular his discovery of historical gains in IQ, now known as the ‘Flynn Effect’)