Latest recipient

The 2016 Hector Medal was awarded to Associate Professor Stéphane Coen for outstanding contributions in understanding, generation, and manipulation of temporal cavity solitons, and in identifying their role in microresonator Kerr frequency combs. Read more.

Previous recipients

2015 Ian Brown FRSNZ – for his innovative transformation of fundamental materials science into major technology platforms of strategic and commercial significance in New Zealand.
2014 Marston Conder FRSNZ – for his outstanding contribution to mathematics.
2013 Richard Blaikie FRSNZ – for his fundamental and wide-ranging contributions to the field of nano-optics, showing that light can be manipulated at scales much smaller than its wavelength and providing a world-first demonstration of a controversial superlens system using subwavelength techniques.
2012 Margaret Brimble CNZM FRSNZ – for excellence in chemical sciences.
Professor Brimble was also awarded the 2012 MacDiarmid Medal and the 2012 Rutherford Medal.
2011 Rod Downey – for his influential and innovative work in mathematical logic.
2010 Grant Williams – for his internationally recognised work on the chemical and electronic structure of materials, especially high temperature superconductors. His work has led to a better understanding of the fundamental physics and the development of materials for magnetic sensors, radiation detection and imaging, and optical communication.
2009 Peter Steel – for his world renowned work in the field of metallosupramolecular chemistry leading to potential applications in medicine and nanotechnology.
2008 Gaven John Martin – for deep and wide-ranging contributions to the theory of Kleinian groups, geometric function theory, and other fundamental parts of modern mathematics
2007 Timothy George Haskell
2006 Richard Furneaux – for his outstanding contribution to the advancement of carbohydrate chemistry and to world-wide recogniton of chemistry and pharmacology in New Zealand
2005 Ian Hugh Witten – for major contributions to mnay areas of computer science
2003 Kenneth John Dallas MacKenzie – for his contribution as a world leader in the physics and chemistry of ceramics, minerals and inorganics
2001 Peter Adolf Schwerdtfeger – for his outstanding reserch in theoretical chemistry
2000 No award
1999 George Arthur Frederick Seber – for fundamental contributons to statistical theory, for the development of the statistics profession in New Zealand and for the advancement of statistics education through his teaching and writing
1998 Paul Terence Callaghan-for devloping several ingenious and innovative applications of nuclear magnetic resonance imaging in many areas of physical and biologialc sciences.
Jeffery Lewis Tallon – for his work on the physical understanding and practical impotrance of certain phase transitions in condensed matter
1997 Edward Neill Baker – for sustained scientific innovation and leadership in the field of protein crystallography
1996 John Charles Butcher
1995 Robert Dudley Jolly
1994 Geoffrey Ernest Stedman
1993 Richard Irving Walcott
1992 Roger Curtis Green
1991 Warren Richard Roper
1990 Peter Wardle
1989 Patricia Rose Bergquist
1988 Daniel Frank Walls
1987 Albert James Ellis
1986 Robin Wayne Carrell
1985 Peter Bernard David de la Mare
1984 Roderick Leon Bieleski
1983 Raymond Robert Forster
1982 Roy Patrick Kerr
1981 Trevor Hatherton
1980 Graham Collingwood Liggins
1979 Leon Francis Phillips
1978 Richard Ellis Ford Matthews
1977 Campbell Stuart Wemyss Reid
1976 John Newton Dodd
1975 Robert Cecil Hayes
1974 Herbert Dudley Purves
1973 Michael Philip Hartshorn
1972 Edward George Bollard
1971 Ira James Cunningham
1970 Brian Garner Wybourne
1969 Douglas Saxon Coombs
1968 Gilbert Edward Archey
1967 Richard Conrad Cambie
1966 John Thorpe Holloway
1965 Richard Kenneth Dell
1964 Derek Frank Lawden
1963 Charles Alexander Fleming
1962 Ralph O’Reilly Piddington
1961 Harry Bloom
1960 Edward Edinborough Chamberlain
1959 Howard Barraclough Fell
1958 Alister George McLellan
1957 Harold William Wellman
1956 Roger Shepherd Duff
1955 Francis Brian Shorland
1954 Lucy May Cranwell Smith
1953 Lancelot Eric Richdale
1952 Keith Edward Bullen
1951 Francis John Turner
1950 Ernest Beaglehole
1949 Robert Anthony Robinson
1948 Gordon Herriot Cunningham
1947 Arthur William Baden Powell
1946 Henry George Forder
1945 John Henderson
1944 Johannes Carl Andersen
1943 Lindsay Heathcote Briggs
1942 Harry Howard Allan
1941 Harold John Finlay
1940 Donald Bannerman Macleod
1939 John Arthur Bartrum
1938 Herbert William Williams
1937 John Reader Hosking
1936 Walter Reginald Brook Oliver
1935 William Blaxland Benham
1934 Charles Ernest Weatherburn
1933 John Marwick
William Noel Benson
1932 Te Rangi Hiroa (Peter H. Buck)
1931 William Percival Evans
1930 John Ernest Holloway
1929 George Malcolm Thomson
1928 Duncan M’Laren Young Sommerville
1927 Charles Andrew Cotton
1926 Henry Devenish Skinner
1925 Bernard Cracroft Aston
1924 Donald Petrie
1923 George Vernon Hudson
1922 Clinton Coleridge Farr
1921 Robert Speight
1920 Stephenson Percy Smith
1919 Philip Wilfred Robertson
1918 Thomas Frederic Cheeseman
1917 Charles Chilton
1916 Ernest Rutherford
1915 Patrick Marshall
1914 Elsdon Best
1913 Thomas Hill Easterfield
1912 Leonard Cockayne