Fellowship of the Royal Society of New Zealand (FRSNZ) is an honour conferred for distinction in research or the advancement of science, or technology, or the humanities.

Since its earliest days the Royal Society has made provision for the election of Honorary Fellows from overseas institutions. With similar criteria to those for Fellowship, Honorary Fellowships are aimed at encouraging liaison between scientists of different nations and promoting communication and links.

Full details about Fellowship, including the annual nomination and election process, Fellowship categories, new Fellows announcements, and obituaries, are available at www.royalsociety.org.nz/fellowship.

The Fellows form the Academy of the Royal Society of New Zealand, which focuses on excellence in research, and assists and supports the activities of the Society. Full details about the Academy, including its Mission, Academy Executive Committee Members, and Academy Annual Reports and Yearbooks, are available at www.royalsociety.org.nz/academy.

Note: Individuals cannot apply to join the Society as Fellows, or as Companions. If you’re interested in applying to become a Member of the Society, find information at www.royalsociety.org.nz/individual-membership.

Current Fellows and Honorary Fellows

There are currently 408 Fellows and 59 Honorary Fellows.

All Fellows and Honorary Fellows

More information