Explore as a

Share our content


View recipients of the Scott Medal.

Latest recipient

The 2017 Scott Medal was awarded to two recipients. 

Professor Kim Pickering FIPENZ, University of Waikato, for her development of composite materials that are more sustainable. Many composite materials are not biodegradable or recyclable, but she has used more sustainable materials as fibres for reinforcing, for example hemp, wood and harakeke or New Zealand flax. 

Professor Ian Woodhead, Lincoln Agritech, for advancing electronic engineering, particularly in developing sensors for the agricultural and environmental sectors, including an electric fence performance sensor, and an electronic soil moisture sensor that allows for more efficient irrigation systems.

Previous recipients


No award


Andrew Buchanan (for his world-leading work in developing design techniques for large-scale timber buildings and designing for fire safety)


Stephen Henry (for his outstanding contribution to the field of glycoscience)


Paul Harris (for his significant contributions to the development and application of electronic devices in New Zealand)


Bruce William Melville (for his research in fluvial sediment transfer)


Peter Munro (for research and application to technical developments in the area of food processing with special emphasis on the properties of milk proteins as functional ingredients)


Josu Arrillaga (for his contribution to the advance of the electrical engineering profession as an educator and as a researcher)


Wei Gao (for major contributions to research concerning the processing of materials so as to engender desired properties)


No award


Lawrence Kenneth Creamer (for pre-eminence in fundamental, strategic and applied New Zealand dairy science and technology)


John Talbot Boys (for outstanding contributions to inductive transfer)


Robert Park (for his leadership and meritorious contributions in the field of seismic design and performance of concrete structures)