Explore as a

Share our content

Powering Potential 2018 | Wellington

Wed 12 Dec
The students of Powering Potential are set to be the leading scientists and innovators of our future. Come and see how they collaborate and seek solutions for key issues facing our nation.

Students who participated in Powering Potential 2017

Witness the future of New Zealand - a group of our most promising secondary students tackling the issues of today.

Powering Potential brings together talented students with passion and skills for science and technology for a problem solving workshop. From Whāngārei to Gore, forty Year 12 and Year 13 students (who intend to study in these disciplines at a tertiary level) have been selected by an independent selection panel for this opportunity.

The workshop puts students into teams where they focus on a question/problem that has been presented to them by mentor, who is either a scientist, or a researcher studying for their PhD in science.

Teams are given 48 hours to concentrate on their issue. They will need to collaborate, research and brainstorm ideas to find innovative and relevant solutions. Each team is then expected to deliver a six minute presentation with visuals based around their findings and recommendations. 

Join us to support and listen to our accomplished Aotearoa rangatahi at their presentations, which will be followed by refreshments.

Powering Potential is a science education programme proudly supported by Royal Society Te Apārangi and Freemasons New Zealand.

Students selected for Powering Potential 2018


Huia Webby, Whangarei Girls’ High School

North Shore

Alana Chhour, Rangitoto College

Central Auckland

Sophie Everitt, Baradene College

Mikaele Ymker, Baradene College

Alasdair Tremlett, Sacred Heart College

Sarah Poulter, St Mary’s College

Aimee Lin, Marist College

Kacy Zhou, St Cuthbert’s College

Shalin Shah, Mount Albert Grammar School

Shreya Nair, Epsom Girls’ Grammar School

East Auckland

Anagh Mane, Botany Downs Secondary School

South Auckland

Michael French, Onehunga High School

Keegan James, Pakuranga College


Nu’umoe Duffy, Cambridge High School

Maayan Levy, Hillcrest High School

Bay of Plenty

Jonathan Tomlinson, Mount Maunganui College

Amy Bewsher, Aquinas College

Kalman Wadsworth, Otumoetai College

Natasha Barnett, Tauranga Girls’ College

Jaehee Chun, Bethlehem College

Linette Lengkeek, Trident High School,

Ashleigh Ngow, Te Puke High School

Hawke's Bay

Magnus Larbi, Napier Boys’ High School


Tamsin van Bergen, New Plymouth Girls’ High School

Breanna Camden, New Plymouth Girls’ High School

Yani Remoto, Hawera High School

Faith Araba, Hawera High School


Lauren Gadd, Freyberg High School


Sofie Claridge, Kapiti College


Samuel Lee, Marlborough Boys’ College


Liam Domett-Potts, Nelson College

Thomas Peterson, Nelson College


Jessica Tater, Cashmere High School

Sophie Deam, Papanui High School

Diana Barbu, Ashburton College


Ella Creagh, Dunstan High School, (Central Otago)

Finn McKinlay, Logan Park High School

Liam Hewson, King’s High School

Corey Symon, King’s High School


Jorgee Robb, Gore High School