Explore as a

Share our content

2018 Research Honours Aotearoa

Wellington | Wednesday 17 October
Awarding those who have striven and achieved excellence in their research discipline, or who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand through their researching career.

Research Honours Aotearoa will again mark the achievements of researchers and scholars throughout New Zealand who have striven and realised excellence in their various disciplines.

This year will feature the inaugural presentations of Te Puāwaitanga Research Excellence Award and the Royal Society Te Apārangi Te Kōpūnui Māori Research Award for Early Career Researchers.

2018 Research Honours Aotearoa

Wellington | Te Papa Tongarewa, The Wellington Foyer

Wednesday 17 October

6:30pm for pre-award drinks with the formal ceremony from 7:30pm

Dress is stylish evening wear with black-tie optional.

Table for Ten $1700

Single ticket $185

If you and/or your team are interested in attending, please email: events@royalsociety.org.nz. For payment, we will send through an invoice (these prices include gst).


Our Medals and Awards to be presented this year are:

  • Callaghan Medal – for outstanding contribution to science communication, in particular raising public awareness of the value of science to human progress
  • Dame Joan Metge Medal – for excellence and building relationships in the social science research community
  • Hamilton Award – for the encouragement of early-career researchers currently based in New Zealand for scientific  research in New Zealand
  • Hatherton Award – for the best scientific paper by a PhD student at any New Zealand University in chemical sciences, physical sciences, or mathematical and information sciences
  • Hector Medal – for outstanding work in chemical, physical sciences, or mathematical and information sciences
  • Humanities Aronui Medal – for research or innovative work of outstanding merit in the humanities
  • Hercus Medal – for excellence in molecular and cellular sciences, biomedical science or clinical science and public health
  • Hutton Medal – for significantly advancing understanding in animal sciences, earth sciences or plant sciences
  • Jones Medal – awarded biennially for lifetime achievement in pure or applied mathematics or statistics by a person with substantial connections to New Zealand.
  • MacDiarmid Medal – for outstanding scientific research that demonstrates the potential for application to human benefit
  • Mason Durie Medal – for advances in the frontiers of social science
  • Pickering Medal – recognises excellence and innovation in the practical applications of technology
  • Pou Aronui Award – for distinguished service to the humanities-aronui
  • Royal Society Te Apārangi Early Career Research Excellence Award for Humanities – for humanities research in New Zealand
  • Royal Society Te Apārangi Early Career Research Excellence Award for Social Sciences – for social sciences research in New Zealand
  • Royal Society Te Apārangi Te Kōpūnui Māori Research Award – for early career researcher to recognise innovative Māori research with a promising trajectory (new medal for 2018)
  • Rutherford Medal – for exceptional contributions to New Zealand society and culture through activities in the broad fields of science, mathematics, social science, and technology
  • Te Puāwaitanga Award – in recognition of research that has made an eminent and distinctive contribution to Te Ao Māori and Indigenous knowledge (new medal for 2018)
  • Thomson Medal – for outstanding contributions to the organisation, support and application of science and/or technology in New Zealand

Health Research Council of New Zealand (HRC) will also be presenting their Medals and Awards:

We acknowledge the strong support of our event partners in presenting this year's awards ceremony.

2018 RHA Logo lock Sponsors VERTICAL

2018 Research Honours Aotearoa | Event partners

Health Research Council of New Zealand (HRC) | Massey University | Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) | NIWA | Victoria University of Wellington

GNS Science | NZ’s Biological Heritage National Science Challenge | University of Auckland | University of Canterbury | University of Otago

Auckland University of Technology (AUT) | Riddet Institute | Te Pūnaha Matatini | The Dodd-Walls Centre for Photonic and Quantum Technologies | The MacDiarmid Institute | University of Waikato


image Suffrage 125 symbol2