

## Brief History of the Wanaka Branch of the Royal Society of New Zealand

As the Royal Society of New Zealand's newest branch Wanaka strives to meet the community's need for scientific information and intellectual stimulation, all in a region that is distant from most of New Zealand's scientific community. These challenges have meant the branch has had to be innovative in its approach to attracting presenters and organising meetings.

The Wanaka branch was formed in February 2013, becoming the 10th Regional Branch of the <u>Royal Society of New Zealand</u>. It was set up by a small group of people with a passion for science who, observing the success of visits by Rutherford Fellows to Wanaka, decided that there was a need for a regular programme of visiting speakers.

The Branch seeks to meet the objectives of the Royal Society of New Zealand by offering a series of 6 to 10 lectures each year where speakers who are highly regarded in their field and who are effective communicators present to a public audience. Each year a number of eminent national and international speakers, who tour New Zealand under the umbrella of the Royal Society of New Zealand are included in the programme.

The Wanaka Branch is constituted as an unincorporated society and comprises a membership who appoint an executive committee at an AGM held in May each year. Members receive advance notices of lectures and other communications by email and information is posted on the dedicated website.

The founding committee included Dr Graeme Ballantyne , Trevor Savage, Russell McGeorge and John Darby.