Latest recipient

The 2015 Te Rangi Hiroa Medal was awarded to Associate Professor Ruth Fitzgerald, University of Otago, for her significant contribution to medical anthropology in areas of social and political importance in New Zealand.

Previous recipients

2013 Not awarded
2011 Colleen Ward – for her outstanding contributions to the advancement of the psychological study of immigration, acculturation, intercultural relations and cultural diversity.
2009 Ian Pool FRSNZ – for his demographic research on Māori fertility and family formation, the theory of age-structural transition, the measurement of mortality and morbidity, and the relationship between population and development.
2007 Not awarded
2005 Alistair John Cluny Macpherson
2003 Greta Regina Aroha Yates-Smith
2001 Erik Newland Olssen
1999 Jack Vowles
1997 Dame Joan Metge