Discipline-based Forums

Discipline-based Forums have been established for, and chaired by each of the three discipline-based Vice-Presidents i.e. Vice-President (Biological and Life Sciences); Vice-President (Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Engineering and Technology); and Vice-President (Social Sciences and Humanities). These Forums comprise the Presidents (or their nominees) of all the Constituent Organisations that fall within each of the Vice President’s respective portfolios.

Vice Presidents’ Discipline-based Forums



The Royal Society of New Zealand Council may from time to time establish Committees. There are currently three special Committees of the Royal Society of New Zealand: 

Early Career Researcher Forum Committee (ECR Committee)
This Committee is responsible for developing a programme of activities to benefit Professional Members holding Early Career Researcher status.

National Committee for SCAR
This Committee is responsible for coordinating activities for New Zealand’s involvement in SCAR (The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research).

New Zealand Committee of ANZCCART
This Committee undertakes activities under the wider umbrella of ANZCCART (The Australian and New Zealand Council for the Care of Animals in Research and Teaching).


Former Panels & Committees