Science Technician Workforce Panel

The Royal Society of New Zealand has set up a Science Technician Workforce Panel, chaired by Professor Jim Johnston FRSNZ, to provide advice on the science technician workforce in New Zealand. Its terms of reference will be to identify a national approach to science technicians’ careers and training in New Zealand. Specific questions to be addressed include:

  • What are the future needs of the New Zealand economy for science technicians?
  • What is the likely future range of science technician roles?
  • What are the issues around career structure for science technicians?
  • Developmental training processes
  • Providing meaningful and rewarding career pathways
  • What key skill areas and competencies are needed?
  • What would a national qualification structure look like and how could it be delivered?
  • How would the proposed qualification system interface with other related qualification systems, such as those for ICT and engineering technicians, and specialised technicians within the medical workforce?

The panel will be expected to consult widely to ensure its advice has wide support in relevant stakeholder communities, and report at the end of 2016.

Science Technician Workforce Panel 

  • Professor Jim Johnston FRSNZ (Professor of Chemistry, Victoria University of Wellington)
  • Dr Ian Brown FRSNZ (Manager, Advanced Materials Group, Callahan Innovation)
  • John Futter (Senior R&D Electronics Engineer, GNS Science)
  • Dr Val Orchard (Former General Manager Science and Research, ESR)
  • Professor Linton Winder (Head of Department, Department of Forestry and Resource Management, Waiariki Institute of Technology)

Science Technician Workforce Panel Expert Reference Group

In order to provide advice on the science technician workforce in New Zealand, an expert reference group has also been established, which will provide advice and review:

  • Graham Burnip (Senior Advisor, Government Industry Agreements, Ministry for Primary Industries)
  • David Cook (Science Technician, Garin College, Nelson)
  • Troy Coyle/Andrew Mackay (Bluescope Steel (NZ Steel))
  • Mike Ede (Environmental Monitoring Team, Marlborough District Council)
  • Alan Hoverd (Technical Team Leader, School of Biological Sciences, Victoria University of Wellington)
  • Professor Stephen MacDonell  (Professor of Software Engineering, Director of the Software Engineering Research Laboratory (SERL), AUT University)
  • John McEwan (Senior Scientist, Animal Genomics, AgResearch Invermay)
  • John Mitchell (Marine Geologist, NIWA)
  • Professor Owen Young (Professor of Food Technology, AUT University)
  • Julie Knighton (General Manager R&D Operations, Fonterra)
  • Ann May Nuku (Plant Manager, AFFCO Manawatu)